top of page

Shootouts determine U13 boys and girls Summer Cup winners

THE Tan Holdings and Kanoa football clubs ended the 2022 Youth Summer Cup with a bang as they claimed their respective U13 division titles via shootouts Saturday at the NMI Soccer Training Center in Koblerville.

In the U13 Girls Division final match, Tan Holdings came out victorious against Kanoa Football Club to win the championship.

Kanoa seized the lead early thanks to their aggressive approach. Throughout the first few minutes of the game, their constant pressure created several shot opportunities. Eventually, they were able to wear down the defensive walls with Aubrey White connecting the shot for a 1-0 lead at the 4th minute mark.

Tan Holdings remained scoreless in the first half, but they tightened their defense and kept Kanoa at bay.

The halftime break seemed to be what THFC needed as they returned to the second half a different team. Turning defense into offense, they managed to leave KNFC behind with Kaye Costales unguarded for the finish to even the score, 1-1.

Both teams gave it their all as they tried to notch the game-winning shot, but neither could execute and the match ended in a draw which resulted in a penalty shootout to determine the winner.

The shootout was just as tough as no shots were getting past the goalies of both teams. Fortunately for THFC, Costales saved the day by securing the winning goal and the championship.

In the consolation match, the Matansa Football Club bagged a 4-2 victory over Southern United Fotoball Club 1. Hailey Benavente and Alyssa Borlongan led Matansa with two goals apiece while Selena Atalig scored two goals for Southern United.

U13 Boys Division

In the U13 Boys Division, Kanoa Football Club defeated MP United Football Club via shootout to win the title.

It was a true finale as both teams were evenly matched both offensively and defensively. Their game ended in a 0-0 tie, triggering a penalty shootout to determine the winner.

MPU's Taiga Namai-Scoggins and KNFC’s Akoni Matsumoto scored a goal each.

KNFC’s goalkeeper Zuriel Abejo then stepped up and denied MPU’s remaining shots while Kanoa’s Aldric Antonio connected the shot needed to win the championship.

In the battle for third place, Terz Navarro took the spotlight as he handed the Tan Holdings Football Club the win with a last-minute goal to edge the Matansa Football Club, 1-0.

Published by Marianas Variety - Aug 10, 2022


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page