top of page

Tan Holdings players lead way in Golden Boot race

Updated: Nov 26, 2021

Three TanHoldings Football Club players are ahead in the Golden Boot race in the 2018 NMIFA Spring Youth League.

In the co-ed U13 division, Anthony Bergancia earned 14 goals in six games to lead a tight battle for the Golden Boot award. He scored in the first three matches of TanHoldings-1 (1, 3, and 2) and had back-to-back four-goal output in Games 5 and 6 to take the slim lead.

Just right behind Bergancia is teammate Mark Joseph Roque, who posted 13 goals, while MP United 1’s Andrew Chung and another TanHoldings-1 player, Angelo Pulido, are still very much in contention with 12 and 10 goals, respectively. Ariel Narvaez, also from the unbeaten TanHoldings-1 (6-0-0), completed the Top 5 with his nine goals.

Four playing weekends are left in the co-ed U13 division before the Golden Boot winner is decided.

In the boys U15 division, TanHoldings’ Taka Borja is way ahead of his competitors after gaining 20 goals in six matches. The TanHoldings strike leads Kanoa’s Ian Maniago (13) and MP United’s Rintaro Miyawaki (11). Four players—Matansa’s Lolobeyong Benito and Razeff Altamirano, Paire’s Kaden Church, and Kanoa’s Markus Toves—are tied for fourth with eight goals each, while MP United’s Jason Quimzon is ranked fifth with his six goals. Players have three games left to get more goals and boost their chances for the Golden Boot award.

In the girls U16 division, Kanoa’s Paulynn Joyce also enjoys a good lead against MP United’s Stella McCallion, as the former registered 18 goals in four games over the latter’s 11. Others who made it to the Top 5 are Southern United’s Keisha Deleon Guerrero (8), Kanoa’s Sharmaine Francisco (8), TanHoldings’ Judy Andebor (6), and Shirley’s Jerlyn Castillo (4). Players chasing Joyce have four games to earn more goals and dislodge the Kanoa striker from the top spot.

In the boys U18 division, TanHoldings’ Mark Esalan has the lead with three playing weeks to go. He collected nine goals in four games to pace perennial Golden Boot winner and MP United main man Sunjoon Tenorio (6), Kanoa’s Andruw Omelau (4) and Merrick Toves (4), Matansa’s Joshua De Leon (3), and MP United’s Dai Podziewski (3) and Miyawaki (3).

Meanwhile, action in the youth league will resume this Saturday after Northern Mariana Islands Football Association called off the games last weekend in observance of Easter Sunday.

Published by Saipan Tribune - Apr 04 2018

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page